Go to advanced menu

Audit Commission

The Audit Commission comprising three Commissioners makes the Board’s decisions by consensus of the Commissioners, as well as directs and supervises the activities carried out by the General Executive Bureau.

The Audit Commission adopts a consensus system to ensure fairness and adequacy in its judgment.
Commissioners are appointed by the Cabinet with the consent of both Houses of the Diet. The Emperor attests to the appointment of the Commissioners. A Commissioner holds office for a seven (7)-year term and his or her status is guaranteed during the term to ensure the Board’s independence.
The person elected by the Commissioners from among themselves is appointed President of the Board by the Cabinet. The President represents the Board and presides over the Audit Commission.

President and Commissioners
Commissioner (President)
Teruhiko KAWATO
Date of Birth: October 23, 1953
Date of Appointment:  (President) August 8, 2013
  (Commissioner) March 5, 2013
The previous position in the Board of Audit: Secretary General
(Married name, Mari YANAGI is used when she exercise her mandate based on the Board of Audit Act, etc.)
Date of Birth: August 16, 1954
Date of Appointment: August 1, 2013
Before joining the Board of Audit: Professor at the Graduate School of Political Science, Waseda University
Date of Birth: September 2, 1958
Date of Appointment: February 21, 2011
Before joining the Board of Audit: Certified Public Account
Partner of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu LLC,
Public Sector Industry Leader
3-2-2,Kasumigaseki,Chiyoda-ku,Tokyo 100-8941 Japan[Map (PDF:54KB)]
(c)2011 Board of Audit of Japan